Welcome 2004 Graduates of Chatham High School

Welcome new CHS alumni. One hundred eighty six members of CHS Class of '04 have joined the ranks of the alumni. We welcome them and wish them well in their future endeavors. We hope that they will keep us posted on their future class activities and look forward to their participation in future Chatham High School Reunions!!

Elyce Noel Matthews Wins Paul E. Harris, Jr. Award

The 2004 Paul Harris Great Reunion Award winner is Elyce Noel Matthews. During her years at Chatham High School Elyce participated in varsity sports, various clubs and was involved in church and town activities as well. She also received academic honors and acted in several leadership positions. For the record, she was on the Student Council 9-12, Model UN 10-12, German Club 11-12, Key Club 9-11, Jersey Girls State 11, NJ Legislative Representative (21st Dist.) National Holocaust Museum, and Varsity Softball and Field Hockey 9-12 serving as co-captain for both in her senior year. She was a youth group mentor at Corpus Christi 2000-2004 and a youth softball and field hockey coach. When she wasn't doing all that she also hit the books, becoming a Blaustein Scholar, National Merit Commended Student, National Honor Society, German Honor Society and achieving High Honor Roll status. With better than a 4.3 grade point average she will attend Boston College in the fall. We are very proud to welcome Elyce as the 18th Great Reunion Award Winner. 

The award, named in honor of Paul Harris '53 whose love and loyalty to the people, town and high school of Chatham was inspiration for the Great Reunion, is given each year to a graduating senior who exemplifies school spirit and community pride. Originally established by the 1985 Great Reunion Steering Committee, the Award Fund is administered through the Chatham Rotary Club. Rotary Club members, Pete Steffens, '66 Chairman of both the 1985 and 1997 Great Reunions and Rich Bradley,'57 member of the Steering Committees for both reunions, oversee the investment of the Award's funds. The Award is currently $500. The recipient is selected based on recommendations of the high school guidance department.

Recipients for Previous Years:

1987 Lisa Anne Thompson 1993 Rosaleen M. Cranley 1999 Claire E. Caputo
1988 Richard Scott Conley 1994 Susan E. Abbott 2000 Lauren M. Barkley
1989 Pamela A. Colucci 1995 Cavan M. Miller 2001 Elizabeth Winograd-Cort
1990 Edward C. Kein 1996 Christopher L. Daniels 2002 Caitlin F. Christian
1991 Amy W. Schedlbauer 1997 Elizabeth Ann Englebert 2003 Elizabeth B. White
1992 Elena L. Laguardia 1998 Jeremy Peter Gehrke

Return to News Index