Welcome 2014 Graduates of Chatham High School

Welcome to the 286 new alumni from the CHS class of 2014. We welcome them and wish them well in their future endeavors. We hope that they will keep us posted on their future class activities and look forward to their participation in future Chatham High School Reunions.

Kurt Van Orden Swartz Wins Paul E. Harris, Jr. Award

The 2014 Paul Harris Great Reunion Award winner is Kurt Van Orden Swartz. Kurt has been a four year varsity member and captain of the CHS Bowling Team, four year member of the men's baseball team, member of the Future Business Leaders of America and History Clubs, member of National Honor Society, Saint Pat's Youth Ministry Retreat Leader. Kurt has been involved with his church parish and various community service projects such as preparing food for the homeless, tutoring, book sales with the public library.  In the summer months, he works at the Minisink Swim Club and plans to attend Wake Forest University in the fall and major in Business. We are very proud to welcome Kurt as the 28th Great Reunion Award Winner. 

The award, named in honor of Paul Harris '53 whose love and loyalty to the people, town and high school of Chatham was inspiration for the Great Reunion, is given each year to a graduating senior who exemplifies school spirit and community pride. Originally established by the 1985 Great Reunion Steering Committee, the Award Fund is administered by Pete Steffens, '66 Chairman of the 1985, 1997 and 2008 Great Reunions and Dean Wilson, '66B Treasurer of the Great Reunions. The Award is currently $500 and the recipient is selected based on recommendations of the high school counseling department.

Paul E. Harris Jr., 76, died peacefully, on Monday, Feb. 13, 2012, at his home in Eureka, Calif.

Recipients for Previous Years:

1987 Lisa Anne Thompson

1993 Rosaleen M. Cranley

1999 Claire E. Caputo

1988 Richard Scott Conley

1994 Susan E. Abbott

2000 Lauren M. Barkley

1989 Pamela A. Colucci

1995 Cavan M. Miller

2001 Elizabeth Winograd-Cort

1990 Edward C. Kein

1996 Christopher L. Daniels

2002 Caitlin F. Christian

1991 Amy W. Schedlbauer

1997 Elizabeth Ann Engelbert

2003 Elizabeth B. White

1992 Elena L. Laguardia

1998 Jeremy Peter Gehrke

2004 Elyce Noel Matthews

2005 Catherine Marie Maliszewski

2006 David Barrett

2007 Alexandra Gonzalez

2008 Tim Hayes

2009 Tara Michelle McCann

2010 Lauren Christen Matturri

2011 Caley Taylor

2012 Joshua Bristol

2013 Robert Costanzo

Return to News Index